To Our Wonderful Participants…

img_0475Last week, we celebrated (an early) International Volunteer Day, and the holiday season, by having a special volunteer recognition event. At this event, we invited all of our volunteers to join us in a holiday themed party to say “THANK YOU” for all of their hard work. Without these volunteers, the Community Connections Program would not be able to reach and support all those that we do.

Leading up to the event, I had reached out to our participants to get some feedback from them on their experiences with our volunteers. I had explained that we were throwing a party and that I would like to show the volunteers what their impact on our participants has been.

Well! The response was OVERWHELMING!

20161207_120835

I was so very pleased with the amount of people who responded. It really helped to show our volunteers just how important they are, and how much their hard work and dedication has paid off.

To quote just a few…

“The ECCs (English Conversation Circles) helped me to improve my English speaking skills”

“I am currently involved in Mentorship Program as a mentee organized by WoodGreen. My mentorship is going very well. My mentor is trying to help in all possible ways to get my goal which has built up my confidence. Hopefully I will get [success] in getting my goal soon!”

“The Taste of French program is very helpful… I am learning and improving my French skills very much… Many Thanks!”

20161207_120703

It was so wonderful to see our volunteers read the printed out testimonials as they talked with each other about their volunteer roles and experiences.

To help understand THEIR experiences, I had asked them to share their thoughts on volunteering and on our participants.

volunteer-testimonials-1

To quote a few of those…

“Enriched by different perspectives”

“It’s as stimulating and enlightening for me as for participants. The energy and positivity of the CC staff is inspiring. You can feel their compassion!”

“I get to interact with brave and interesting people!”

“Allows me to meet people from around the world”

volunteer-testimonials-2

The event was a huge success, and everyone was able to network and connect with new colleagues. Reading both the participants’ and volunteers’ words allowed the staff to reflect on all of our planning and coordinating done over the past year. We can’t wait to see what develops next year!

Everyday, the Community Connections Team gets to interact with such amazing and wonderful participants and volunteers. We are so thankful to have met all of you! Your stories and your ability to open up and take on new challenges is motivating and empowering!

Thank you to all those who contributed by submitting testimonials. I know the volunteers truly appreciated it.

Have a wonderful holiday season and all the best in 2017!!

Valerie & The CC Team

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

One thought on “To Our Wonderful Participants…

Leave a Reply

